Author Topic: Battle Of Lake Erie  (Read 1655 times)

Meadow Ford

• Open / FFA
Battle Of Lake Erie
« on: June 11, 2023, 10:46:00 AM »
IMHO
After watching the replay.
I think Tritton's best maneuver was avoiding the breaking horse in the first turn.
Again IMHO, if she had been laying back (as is the style of the day) she may not have been able to see and avoid the breaking horse.
Then again Geo Nap may have been screaming like a scalded ape.
Maybe it was Lockinvar Art and not the driver that saw the breaker and made the sharp left turn. Standardbreds  are smarter then we sometimes give them credit for.
I am just an old horse trainer still going around in circles. Sometimes Fast. Sometimes Half-Fast.

SDST2009

• Top Claimer
Re: Battle Of Lake Erie
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2023, 04:41:06 PM »
IMHO
I think Tritton's best maneuver was avoiding the breaking horse in the first turn.
Again IMHO, if she had been laying back (as is the style of the day) she may not have been able to see and avoid the breaking horse.
Maybe it was Lockinvar Art and not the driver that saw the breaker and made the sharp left turn. Standardbreds  are smarter then we sometimes give them credit for.

I don't really know yet how Lochinvar Art stacks up against the best FFA pacers but I will give him this, he can take a lot of air and that was a pretty gutsy win. Also impressed with him in the winner's circle; stood like a statue for the whole dog and pony show. Nice, smart horse, especially for an 8yo stud.

The Thorn

• Stakes Horse
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2023, 04:44:50 PM »
Taking air and winning were what he did best down under.  He won at least 1 grade one race parked the entire mile and a half or maybe a little more as its in meters.

FirstUpFrom8Hole

• Stakes Horse
« Reply #3 on: June 11, 2023, 05:11:58 PM »
IMHO

Ain't that the truth. I've been saved many times by a smart horse seeing the problem before I did and reacting appropriately.

LUCPARK

• Living Legend