Author Topic: You know you are old when?  (Read 2282 times)

Meadow Ford

• Open / FFA
You know you are old when?
« on: August 17, 2023, 12:49:23 PM »
Reading yesterday's results I saw that a certain eight year old gelding won a FFA trot.
I know that if you go back FIVE generations in this trotters pedigree you will find two of his great great great dams that I drove at Atlantic City in the early 70's.
That makes me old dam old.

Fuguzzi, I bet you can relate to this.

In the 80's I would go to the sales and in the catalog see horses in the first generation that I either owned, trained, drove, or raced against.
In the 90's it was the second generation.
In the 2000's it was the third generation.
In the 2010's it was the fourth generation.
Now I see horses in the fifth generation that I relate to.
I am just an old horse trainer still going around in circles. Sometimes Fast. Sometimes Half-Fast.

Parked

• Elite
Re: You know you are old when?
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2023, 01:03:46 PM »
2 things for sure if you are seeing 5 th generations. One, you are old and 2. the mares are not producing much..

Meadow Ford

• Open / FFA
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2023, 01:11:35 PM »
2 things for sure if you are seeing 5 th generations. One, you are old and 2. the mares are not producing much..
Why saying not producing much.
Not producing now, but one of them produced a Hambo winner.
I am just an old horse trainer still going around in circles. Sometimes Fast. Sometimes Half-Fast.

Fuguzzi

• Elite
« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2023, 01:34:47 PM »
Reading yesterday's results I saw that a certain eight year old gelding won a FFA trot.
I know that if you go back FIVE generations in this trotters pedigree you will find two of his great great great dams that I drove at Atlantic City in the early 70's.
That makes me old dam old.

Fuguzzi, I bet you can relate to this.