Author Topic: Question about the number cloth  (Read 675 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

arniesarmy

  • Stakes Horse
  • *****
  • Posts: 971
Question about the number cloth
« on: May 27, 2025, 08:45:17 PM »
In the seventh race at Northfield tonight, No. 3--a 1/9 shot--was leading but several lengths going around the final turn. The number cloth was coming off and finally did fly off. It didn't affect the second and third place horses, but it did cause one trailer to take several bad steps as the cloth flew underneath him. What would have happened if the cloth had flown into the face of a horse that had a legitimate shot of winning or caused a horse to go offstride? Could the horse been disqualified?

Parked

  • Elite
  • ******
  • Posts: 2740
Re: Question about the number cloth
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2025, 08:53:03 PM »
I believe that if any piece of equipment comes off a horse and causes another horse go offstride (maybe even alter its course) the horse is placed behind the one from which the equipment comes from.   We all know a judge isnt going to place a heavy favorite back due to this.   

Secure saddle pads are the responsibility of the groom.  Too occupied on a cell phone. 

Parked

  • Elite
  • ******
  • Posts: 2740
Re: Question about the number cloth
« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2025, 09:08:43 PM »
Effective May 1 st. The rule does not include saddle pads.   And it was the responsibility of the trainer.   

 

shout out

Refresh History
  • Sound off !
  • SwankToliverA: You're welcome Gentlemen.  It certainly is bello, glad you did well today.
    August 29, 2025, 10:21:40 PM
  • Kirbys Ace: Recalls or lack of them has always been a black eye on the sport.
    August 29, 2025, 08:16:33 PM
  • Trigger: Never a fucking recall at Mohawk unless their winning horse is locked wheels
    August 29, 2025, 08:10:42 PM
  • Trigger: Even a horse named A CLEAN DEAL is too much to ask for to win at the MST, a can't lose lol  ngc3
    August 29, 2025, 07:48:12 PM
  • Trigger: Polish Jola, Congratulations again on RRD, another amazing jiggity jog!  If you see Ricky Macomber Jr, tell him I 'd like to kick him in his twat foir his ZERO effort where he could of easily got 2nd!   ;D
    August 29, 2025, 07:14:21 PM
  • JT: Thank you Swank!!
    August 29, 2025, 05:08:13 PM
  • bello: Thanks Swank. Last week I swore off timonium after I was dqed for no reason. I looked at todays card and said to myself I need to jump in. Racing is a funny game.
    August 29, 2025, 04:32:15 PM
  • SwankToliverA: Congrats Bello and JT!
    August 29, 2025, 04:11:03 PM
SimplePortal 2.3.7 © 2008-2025, SimplePortal