Author Topic: Does anyone make a living betting harness racing  (Read 1798 times)

FirstUpFrom8Hole

• Stakes Horse
Does anyone make a living betting harness racing
« on: February 25, 2023, 10:20:52 AM »
This is a serious question. As a driver I know all the things that can go wrong. Locked in, stuck first up, horse off, bad cover, bad drive, etc. Add in all the other shenanigans going on and I honestly don't know how anyone can actually handicap these races well enough to pay the bills.

The last big bet I made was years ago at Scioto. All I had to do was make the front and not fall off. I'm on the lead going to the half and some kid with a P beside his name was sitting in a gapped pocket and decides to close it by doing a full whip swing to his horse who accelerated like a rocket, ran up onto my back and the poor thing got this leg stuck between my wheel and the wheel shaft. I went from going 35 mph to 0 in about 3 feet. Luckily both horses came out ok. But that was a $500 bet down the shitter. Which was a stupid bet to begin with because I was 3/5. Risking 500 to make 300 is not very smart in this business

Emperor Dapple

• Stakes Horse
Re: Does anyone make a living betting harness racing
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2023, 10:55:05 AM »
This is a serious question. As a driver I know all the things that can go wrong. Locked in, stuck first up, horse off, bad cover, bad drive, etc. Add in all the other shenanigans going on and I honestly don't know how anyone can actually handicap these races well enough to pay the bills.